EC issues notification for by-polls in 18 assembly, one LS seats

New Delhi, May 18  : The Election Commission of India on Friday issued notification for the by-elections in 18 Assembly Constituencies and one Lok Sabha seat in the State.

According to the notification, the by-elections will be held on June 12 and the counting of votes and declaration of results will happen on June 15. The nominations will be accepted from candidates between 11am to 3 pm from May 18 and the last date for filing of nominations is May 25. The nominations will be scrutinized on May 26 and the last date for withdrawal of nominations will be May 28.

Meanwhile, the election officials said that they have seized Rs 15 crore in cash and about one lakh litres of illicit liquor from the 12 election-bound districts. So far, nearly 2,000 people have been arrested as a precautionary measure and non-bailable cases have been registered against 3,000 people.

The authorities have decided to deploy 139 companies of CRPF and other forces in the election-bound districts to maintain law and order.

Meanwhile, Thota Trimurtulu of Congress party has filed his nomination from Ramachandrapuram assembly constituency. He was accompanied by Stamps and Registration Minister Thota Narsimha and Animal Husbandry Minister Vishwaroop.

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *

You may use these HTML tags and attributes: <a href="" title=""> <abbr title=""> <acronym title=""> <b> <blockquote cite=""> <cite> <code> <del datetime=""> <em> <i> <q cite=""> <strike> <strong>